The Lessons of Green Eggs and Ham

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Rantings

Tonight, as I sat in a circle with The Boyfriend at my side, and my sister and her boyfriend, we discussed many things, and giggled at many as well. I was speaking to my Dad tonight for the first time in forever, and none of what he was saying was making any sense. Someone said “Put green eggs and ham and see what he says!” and The Boyfriend said something along the lines of “He’ll probably say ‘Whoa, that’s deep!” to which we all broke out into a hysterical laugh.

But through my extreme laughter, I started thinking “Yeah, whoa, that is deep. Real deep!” As I said it out loud, I got strange looks from the group around me, which I of course returned with an even stranger look, confused at how they didn’t see it.

I realized that my number one sexual philosophy for myself, is completely demonstrated and summed up in Dr. Seuss’ popular children’s book, Green Eggs and Ham.

See in this book, Sam runs around asking if the other guy wants green eggs and ham. Eventually after alot of chasing and alot of questions, Sam convinces the other guy to eat the green eggs and ham. Guess what? The other guy loved it!!! He absolutely loved green eggs so much that he was no longer angry with Sam, and he even chanted that he would he eat them on a boat with a goat, in a house with a mouse. He even said he would eat them here, there and everywhere!

So, how does this demonstrate and sum up my number one sexual philosophy? Well, it’s simple really. When it comes to sexual activities, don’t knock anything until you try it. Don’t just assume you don’t like something. I have a very specific rule for myself: Everything must be experimented with in three’s. There are only three things that are absolute hard limits for me that I won’t experiment with, and that’s poop, pee and puke (The three P’s. Are you seeing a pattern here?)

I don’t think in any area of our lives, we should just cut out options without at least trying them first. You never know what’s going to work and what you’re going to like. I’m a big believer in having a clear definition of who you are, especially sexually because I believe it’s the only way to be sexually satisfied.

You can’t define yourself when you haven’t explored yourself! You can’t say “I don’t like this”, if you never have tried it. I personally think that that is pretty darn deep! All thanks to Green Eggs and Ham.

Leave a Reply

